Sa Sport Awards a time for celebration: Minister Mbalula

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The festive season is usually a time for celebration and cameradie and this year will be no different as the country gears up for the annual South African Sports Awards (SASA). It has been a tough year for South African sports, notably with the tragic deaths of Mbulaeni Mulaudzi, Tinus Lenee, Senzo Meyiwa and Phindile Mwelase.
According to Minister of Sport and Recreation, Fikile Mbalula, despite it being a tough year for sports, there is still a need to celebrate the excellent achievements of our sports men and women.
“In African culture, much as we respect death, we also believe that in times of mourning there is still something to celebrate. And in this case not only will we celebrate the heroics of our fallen stars, but we also celebrate the excellence of those who are still with us. As you know, I always speak against mediocrity”.
This year will see nominees compete over 17 categories, with seasoned stars like Chad Le Clos and Khotso Mokoena up for the Sports Star of the Year award. Public voting for the coveted Sports Star of the Year has already begun, and voters are spoilt for choice in the form of Ernst van Dyk, Chad Le Clos, Portia Modise, Khotso Mokoena, AB De Villiers or Duane Vermeulen.
The other categories include:
– Administrator of the Year
– Sportsman of the Year
– Sportsman of the Year with disability
– Sportswoman of the year
– Sportswoman of the year with disability
– Team of the year
– Newcomer of the year
– Coach of the year
– Volunteer of the year
– Recreational body of the year
– Photographer of the year
– Journalist of the year
– Federation of the year
– School team of the year
– Indigenous games star of the year and
– Developing school team of the year

The event takes place on 30 November at the Sandton Convention Centre and will be broadcast live on SABC 1 and SS4 at 20:00.

To vote for your favourite Sports Star of the Year, SMS the keyword SPORTS followed by the letter indicating your selection to 34760. Example: SPORTS D, if you would like to vote for Khotso Mokoena.

A) Ernst Van Dyk
B) Chad Le Clos
C) Portia Modise
D) Khotso Mokoena
E) AB De Villiers
F) Duane Vermeulen

SMS cost R1.50 per entry. Prizes to be won. T&Cs apply, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.