Mamelodi Sundowns ladies crowned 2015 Sasol league National championship winners

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies celebrate winning the 2015 edition during the SASOL League National Championship Finals on 13 December 2015 at DP De Villiers Stadium Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix
Reading Time: 2 minutes

An exhilarating day of football enthralled the community of Sasolburg as the grand finale of the Sasol League National Championships kicked off at the DP de Villiers Stadium on 13 December, 2015.

The first match of the day took place between Durban Ladies (KwaZulu-Natal) and Kanatla Ladies FC (Limpopo). They went head-to-head in search of the third spot in the third and fourth position playoffs. Durban Ladies’ first goal was disallowed as it was ruled offside. The match went into the halftime break at 0-0.

At the start of the second half both teams came out stronger as they went on an attacking spree to try convert their chances into goals. The coastal side were the first to find the net through former Banyana Banyana player Veronica Phewa to give her team a 1-0.

Kanatla refused to be dominated and later pulled one back through Jeanet Fisher to put the score level at 1-1. This match finished 1-1 and as a result, the match went straight into penalties to determine who takes the third position in the Sasol League National Championships.

Anxiety mounted as the selected players took the field to take the penalties on behalf of their teams. Unfortunately nerves got the better of the KwaZulu-Natal side when Kanatla Ladies converted four penalties against to Durban Ladies’ one conversion.

Kanatla came out victorious with a 4-1 win on penalties to take the Bronze at the National Champs.

“Our aim this year was to do better than we did last year when we came in fourth position and that is what we did now that we ended in third position. Next year we’re going for gold,” said Kanatla Ladies Head Coach Mkuseli Godlwana.

The ultimate final then took centre stage at 13h00 when Cape Town Roses (Western Cape) hosted Gauteng based Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies in the highly anticipated final.

SAFA President Danny Jordaan, FIFA Presidential Candidate Tokyo Sexwale and Executive Mayor Metsimaholo, Local Municipality Councillor, Brutus Mahlaku were some of the dignitaries who came out to support women’s football at its best.

It was a goals galore final as the Gauteng based side Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies came out in full-force and dominated the match from the first half. Masandawana played the most part of the first half in Cape Town Roses half and as such scored their first two goals by Andisiwe Mgcoyi, Agnes Nkosi.

As more pressure was applied on the Western Cape representative and 2014 champions, a penalty was awarded to Sundowns for a hand ball by Cape Town Roses in the penalty area. Sundowns’ defender Zanele Nhlapho quickly converted the penalty to give Masandawana a comfortable 3-0 lead going into the half time break.

The tournament top goalscorer Andisiwe Mgcoyi scored yet another goal to make it 4-0 in the second stanza.
Miss Sethunya also added her name to the score sheet to cement the title for Sundowns on 5-0 in the 89th minute.

Sasol and SAFA would like to congratulate the 2015 Sasol League National Champions, Mamelodi Sundowns.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.