Limpopo to host their Copa Coca-Cola Provincial finals

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Football fans in the Thohoyandu  town, Limpopo are set for a taste of the COPA Coca-Cola® Tournament football action at its best when the cream of the crop Under-15 schools talent in the province display their skills in their quest for provincial glory.Five teams, each representing their region, will lock horns at Makhuvha Stadium on Saturday, 13 September 2014, with the kickoff for the first game scheduled for 9:00am.The 2014 COPA Coca-Cola® schools tournament started in March this year with schools in each of the nine provinces competing at regional level. The winning schools from the various regions then competed to represent their areas at the respective provincial finals, where they ultimately aim to become the provincial champion and represent their provinces at the National Finals of the tournament in next month.Among the contenders to take the Limpopo crown is reigning champions, Benny Sports Academy School from the Vhembe district. This is the sixth time in succession that the school has played in the COPA Coca-Cola® competition and has under the watchful eye of coach Justice Matloga won the provincial tittle for four successive years.Football - 2014 Copa Coca-Cola - Gauteng Provincial Finals - Mamelodi - Central Sports Complex“This tournament has become one of the most important events in our sports calendar.  We will be fighting hard to keep our provincial tittle, as this will not only do us proud, but will also prove that we are doing well as the school in developing our players.” said Matloga.

The other four schools to give Benny’s a run for their money is: Bjatladi Secondary School from Capricorn Region, Manoke High School (Sekhukhune Region), Tielelo High School (Waterburg Region) and Hudson Ntsanwisi High School (Mopani Region).


The ultimate winning school of the 2014 COPA Coca-Cola® football tournament will walk away with the honour of being named the 2014 champion as well as R60 000 to be used towards the development of their school’s educational or sporting facilities. The second and third place winners will also receive R30 000 and R25 000 respectively.


Limpopo provincial winners will join Robinvale Secondary School (Western Cape), SA Van Wyk High School (Northern Cape), Slindokuhle Secondary School (KwaZulu Natal), Sikhulile Secondary School (Eastern Cape), Clapham High School (Gauteng) and Thlavekisa Secondary School (Mpumalanga) at the National Finals to be held at the King Zwelithini Stadium in KwaZulu-Natal from 17 to 19 October 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.