I’ts all systems go for MLFM xitsonga music awards

Reading Time: 5 minutes

After two successful back to back launches in Auckland Park in 2012 and 2013, Xitsonga music awards launch returned to Limpopo Province. Nominations for the 12th installment of this powerful concept were unveiled today (18 September 2014) in Polokwane. As expected, the event was attended by heavyweights in business, politics and the music industry. Nominees will battle it out in 12 categories, including the newly introduced Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year category. Munghana Lonene fm and SABC took a decision last year to honor this legend by naming the category after him.The Gospel Album Live Version category has been dropped due to lack of entries. For a genre to qualify to have a full category, it should have a minimum of three entries. Album of the year category has been replaced by Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year category. The station will also hand out 3 special awards. The late GT Chauke of Mapololo fame will be remembered posthumously. Legendary Xitsonga gospel group, Dwaro Rocks will receive the Living Legends’ award, while Sipho Hotstix Mabuse will be honored with “The Companion of Xitsonga music award”. Ray Chikapa Phiri was the inaugural recipient of this award last year.Joe Shirimane leads the pack with 4 nominations. He is nominated under Best Xitsonga Duo/Group, Best Xitsonga Collaboration, Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year and Xitsonga Most Popular Song. He is followed by Colonel Mhlongo and Percy Mfana with 3 nominations each. The three are joined by Doctor Sithole, and Sesi na Sesi for Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year Award. Do you remember Jonah Moyo of Devera Ngwena Jazz Band from Zimbabwe? He has been nominated under Risimu ra Mindzhumba ya Africa category. His song Devera Ngwena was a big hit in the SADC region in the early 80s. New kid on the block, Brian Bomba also took the nomination list by storm with two nominations. He is nominated in the Best Xitsonga Newcomer category and will also battle it out with RnB heavy weights such as Moocah, Cloretta and Junior Mkhari for Best Xitsonga RnB crown.

“These awards are uniting the people of the continent. The fact that we have musicians from Mozambique and Zimbabwe nominated in these awards is a clear indication that they are not just growing in South Africa but in the continent as well. I am also impressed with the quality of Xitsonga RnB.” .Said Munghana Lonene fm station manager, James Shikwambana.The station’s listeners are not left out. They will participate by voting for the Most Popular Song and they will also be part of the awards ceremony in November at Nkowankowa stadium. A ticket costs R70 at Computickets. A lucky listener stands a chance to win R12 000 and VIP experience if they buy a ticket before 14 October. All they need to do is to buy a ticket at computickets and sms the ticket number to 33124.The awards presentation will be followed by a BIG music festival which will feature the cream of South African music such as Sipho Makhabane, Colbert Mukwevho, Ihashi Elimhlophe, Joe Shirimane na Vana va Ndoda, Penny Penny, Brian Bomba, Benny Mayengane and many more. The lineup will also feature the station’s popular presenter, DJ Brian and producer Magubane Da Franchize.“As promised by my predecessor last year, the district municipality remains committed to these awards as you can see we are part of the awards for the next three years. The awards play a big role in ensuring that musicians continue to produce quality music.” Said Mopani District Municipality Executive Mayor, Nkakareng Rakgoale.

MLFM_306[1]Full Nomination list:


  1. Best Xitsonga Newcomer


  • Ndhave Zitha
  • H.A. Makhubele na Xongani Sisters
  • Brian Bomba
  • N’wahulela
  • Junior Mkhari
  • Makwindi
  • Mhani Misola
  • Masenyani na Malahleni Sisters
  • Mbuyangwani



  1. Best Xitsonga Gospel


  • Joseph Baloyi – Ribye ra vuchabelo
  • Worship House – A nga tsandzeki Yehovha
  • Kedibone Malatswane – Ndzi tsakile
  • Makhubele’s Familly – Masungulo yanga
  • Tsakani – Kunene ndzi swikumile
  • Felicia Lebosha – Hi hanya mahala
  • Peggy Baloyi – Wa tshembheka
  • Andy Masiye – Mukutsuri
  • Afoso Zion Singers – Hosi swa ni vava










  1. Best Xitsonga Disco


  • Majombhani – Ha ringana
  • Skhathele Khoza – Nkatanga
  • Colonel Mhlongo – Mhani ntsongo
  • Vuyelwa – Vusiwana
  • Petrus Nyathi- A kuna rirhandzu
  • Mbuyangwani – A ndzi dyondzangi
  • King Soshangani – Andzi naveli
  • Clive S – Makhwapheni


  1. Best Xitsonga Mindzhumba ya Afrika


  • Jonah Moya – Mbilu ya wena
  • Ali Moyana & Selmour Mtukudzi – Rixaka ra Vatsonga
  • Mr Bee & Ntombi Marhumbini – Mama
  • Zozo – Tsatsawani


  1. Best Xitsonga RnB/Hip Hop


  • Themba Nyathi – Malovola
  • Joseph Baloyi – Vukati
  • Brian Bomba – Yellow Bone
  • Cloretta – Minoo
  • Mocah Ft. Mcbone – Khinyaveza
  • Owenchi – Ndzi ku nyika rirhandzu
  • Junior Mkhari – Bomba Mchangani


  1. Best Xitsonga House Song


  • Tsalanang – Dzudza madzedze
  • Limpopo Roots – Mali ya mina
  • Master Rich – Nghoma ya mina
  • DJ Gami Ft. Masesi – Xibhekarani
  • DJ Nascent & Medium Point Ft. Bee Zee Bee – Gambu Gambu
  • Madenza Lesh – Phenduka


  1. Best Xitsonga Duo/Group


  • Wiskee Mathebula na Hlayisani Sisters
  • Machoma Boys
  • Mapelle na Nurse
  • Sesi na Sesi
  • Joe Shirimane na Vana va Ndoda
  • Boti Ready na Peter Magolongondlo
  • Snombelani Sisters
  • Chocolate Barhule na Vanyamatsi
  • Robert N’wa Beku Maluleke na Xikhongolotani
  • H.A. Makhubele na Xongani Sisters


  1. Best Xitsonga Collaboration


  • Madya Kubomba ft Joe Shirimane – Khefu
  • Mocah Ft. Mcbone – Khinyaveza
  • Dr Sithole Ft. Manana Agnes Baloyi – Va vulavula
  • Buti Makhahlele na Sunglen- A ndzi nga lavi ku vula
  • Nice Rikhotso na Majimbosi – Xigubu xa Majimbos
  • Mbhanyele Ft. Forget Makhahlele – Chovhachovha
  • Kenny Bhevhula Ft. Khensi – Tinghamula
  • Percy Mfana ft. Xindendefu – Xikwembu xa lotto


  1. Best Male Artist


  • Doctor Sithole
  • Mr. Post
  • Muzesh
  • Timbeva 4 life
  • Percy Mfana
  • Msindu wa Pheni
  • Prince Rhangani
  • Marhoya
  • Boti ready
  • Hammy Chauke


  1. Best Female Artist


  • Nurse
  • Rose Tshabalala
  • Sunglen
  • Manana Mabasa
  • Vuyelwa
  • Mhani Misolwa
  • Flora Chauke
  • Mhani N’wa Daniel
  • Maria T N’wa Mongwe
  • N’wa Hulela



11 .Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year


  • Doctor Sithole
  • Percy Mfana
  • Colonel Mhlongo
  • Joe Shirimane
  • Sesi na Sesi







  1. Best Xitsonga Most Popular Song


  • Colonel Mhlongo – Mhani ntsongo
  • Percy Mfana ft. Xindendefu – Xikwembu xa lotto
  • Joe Shirimane na Vana va Ndoda – Hekeleheke
  • Mapelle na Nurse – Malamulele
  • Dr. Sithole ft. Comrade Xigevenga and Solomon Manganyi – Uvuyile ka Xindhichani
  • Sesi na Sesi – Swi endlekile
  • Brian Bomba – Yellow Bone
  • Limpopo Roots – Mali ya mina
  • Muzesh – Vhuthu
  • Buti Ready – Whatsapp



33129 was officially unveiled as the voting line for Best Xitsonga Most Popular Song of the year. The category will be decided by the station’s listeners, while an experienced panel of judges will be appointed to adjudicate in the rest of the categories.


Winners will be announced at the music awards ceremony to be held at Nkowankowa stadium in Tzaneen, Limpopo Province on the 8th November 2013.


The event on the 8th November 2014 will be preceded by a gala dinner on the 7th November where all special awards are going to be presented.


For more details, contact Munghana Lonene fm Marketing Manager Vongi Nkanyane at 015 2900247 or e-mail her at nkanyanevp@sabc.co.za




Events coordinator Amos Kanyane at 015 290 0106 or e-mail kanyaneka@sabc.co.za



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.