Main Menu

Munghana Lonene FM music awards Looms

You have waited for it and now its back, with even more impudence than ever before. This is the famous and most anticipated Munghana Lonene fm Xitsonga Music Awards. The year 2017 sees the station celebrate the 14th instalment of this prestigious event and this one too brings numerous exciting surprises to the music community. The station had a successful launch at Meropa Entertainment World in Polokwane, Limpopo. Nominations for the XMA14 “as the concept is popularly known based on the phase” were unveiled late last year. As expected, the event was attended by heavyweights in the music industry supported by business, politics and traditional leadership. Nominees will this year battle it out in 11 categories.

The Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year category previously won by Percy Mfana joins the likes of the Song of the Year as well as the Album of the year categories as some one of the highly contested categories in this year’s awards. With 4 of Xitsonga’s best artists in General Muzka, Eckson Maluleke, Sunglen Tshabalala and Forget Makhahlela as nominees, the category promises to be one of the most highly contested thus far. It will be very interesting to see who walks away with the award in the evening of Saturday 25th March 2017. The station will also hand out 4 special recognition awards at a lavish Gala Dinner which will be hosted a night before the general awarding ceremony at Giyani stadium. The late Mbhazima Wilson Mathebula (AKA Mararaza) will be remembered posthumously, Legendary Alpheus Maluleke will receive the Living Legend award, while GS Chauke na Xivhalo Queens will receive the Lifetime Achievement award with Revolution being honored with “The Companion of Xitsonga music award” for their continued support in building the Xitsonga language, heritage and culture through their many songs. The twins follow on the footsteps of Vusi Mahlasela, Sipho Hotstix Mabuse and Ray Chikapa Phiri who were recognized with this award in 2015, 2014 & 2013 respectively

Leading the pack with 3 nominations each this year is General Muzka, Sunglen Tshabalala. Themba Nyathi, Tirhani Mabasa, Forget Makhahlele and Eckson Maluleke followed by Makhongela, Brian Bomba na The Grace Band with 2 nominations each. Tirhani Mabasa is making waves as she features on the Best New Comer category while also battling it out for the Best Xitsonga female artists of the year, a category which features the likes of Sunglen Tshabalala, Florah N’wa-Chauke. She also faces tough competition as the most popular song of the year category contender with her hit song “Ben 10”, battling hits such as Nyoresh, Mbilu Ya Mina, Xipapilana, Khanimamba, Suduwele, Wa Mina, Do like I do, Ha ku khensa Yehova, Hanyelo ra Faro part 2.

“These awards continue to play a very serious role in improving the Xitsonga music offering and have inspired our musicians to up their game in producing good quality music. “ – said Munghana Lonene fm station manager, Mr. Lawrence Ubisi.

Interesting though… the station’s faithful & loyal listeners are not left out on this journey. They will participate by deciding through their votes for the Most Popular Song of the Year and will also be part of the awards ceremony 0n 25th March 2017 at Giyani stadium for only R120, while the Golden circle will be R200. Those who will like to join the VIP section dig deeper as their ticket costs R500 at Computicket nationwide. 3 lucky listeners’ stands a chance to win R2 500 each and a VIP experience for them and a partner if they buy a ticket before 16 February 2016. All they need to do is sms the word WIN and their ticket number to 33129.

As is practice, the awards presentation will be followed by a BIG EXPLOSIVE music festival which will feature the cream of South African music such as King Monada, Dr. Thomas Chauke, Sunglen, Mzee & Rafiki, General Muzka, Brian Bomba, Themba Nyathi and many more. The festival will also feature one of the station’s own son Mchangaan.

“Having recently signed for yet another 3 years commitment as the platinum sponsor, the district municipality remains committed to these awards and will support its growth for as long as it possibly can. The awards play a big role in ensuring that musicians continue to produce quality music.” Said Mopani District Municipality Executive Mayor, Ms. Nkakareng Rakgoale.

#Ku Ntlurhuka Njovo, Ku Haha Xibelani
Full Nomination list:
1. Best Xitsonga Newcomer
• Tirhani Mabasa
• Daniel Brothers
• Team Mlambya
• Jossie
• Mxadzi na Madonsi Chauke
2. Best Xitsonga Gospel
• Ha ku khensa Yehova – The Grace Band
• Loko a ku ngari wena yesu – Manana Thwala
• Khanimamba – Themba Nyathi
• Ndzi Pfune Hosi – Kedibone Malatswane
• Khanimamba Yehova – Go Explo
3. Best Xitsonga Disco
• Nyoresh – General Muzka
• Mbitsi – Petros Nyathi
• Verengela Mugayo – Majombana
• DZ Mayaza – Tichayimene
• Mbuyangwani -Instalment
4. Best Xitsonga RnB
• U sasekile – Daniel Brothers
• Xingwavila – Clive S
• Mbilu ya Mina – Delani
• Mbilu ya mina – Brain Bomba
• Ntswotswa – Mooca
5. Best Xitsonga House Song
• Wa mina loyi – Limpopo Roots
• Khanimamba – Themba Nyathi
• Phakama Mchangana – Master Rich
• Mali ya Mudende – Gammi Swagg
• Vukosi – DJ Nascent
6. Best Xitsonga Duo/Group
• Snombhelani Sisters
• Sesi na Sesi
• Joe Shirimane na Vana va ndoda
• Team Nyenya
• Wiskee Mathebula na Hlayisani Sisters
7. Best Xitsonga Collaboration
• Mthimbani ft Daniel Brothers – Unconditional Love
• Makhongela ft Esta M – Do like I do
• Mafamba ft Joe Shirimane – Gandlati
• Mshengu ft Tirhani Mabasa – Giyani kaya ra swilo
• Mhani Ma dya ku bomba ft Brain Bomba and Mgimeti – Mhani wa Solani
8. Best Male Artist
• Eckson Maluleke
• Percy Mfana
• Prince Rhangani
• Forget Makhahlele
• Makhongela
9. Best Female Artist
• Sunglen Tshabalala
• Flora N’wa-Chauke
• Mhani Agnes Baloyi
• Nurse
• Tirhani Mabasa

10. Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year
• General Muzka
• Sunglen Tshabalala
• Eckson Maluleke
• Forget Makhahlele

11. Xitsonga Most Popular Song of the year

• Ben 10 – Tirhani Mabasa
• Suduwele – Sunglen Tshabalala
• Nyoresh – General Muzka
• The Grace Band – Ha ku khensa Yehova
• Khanimamba – Temba Nyathi
• Xipapilani – Eckson Maluleke
• Wa Mina – Limpopo Roots
• Hanyelo ra Faro part 2 – Forget Makhahlele
• Do like I do – Makhongela
• Mbilu ya mina – Brian Bomba
33129 was officially unveiled as the voting line for Best Xitsonga Most Popular Song of the year. The category will be decided by the station’s listeners, while an experienced panel of judges will be appointed to adjudicate in the rest of the categories overseen by SABC auditors.

Related News

Xitsoga Music Awards to attract capacity crowds

The 15th Munghana Lonene FM Xitsonga Music Awards (XMA15) will be held on 29th &Read More

Telkom expands in store offering

Telkom today launched a new store in Bara Mall that offers more than it’s normalRead More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.